I Am Average

NXWR1651E3 When I was five years old, I dreamed about marrying Prince Charming and becoming a princess. When I was seven, I dreamed about being in a beauty pageant. I continued to go through life thinking that I was special, that the entire world revolved around me.

And then, I turned fifteen and my dreams changed. They became more grounded in reality. Suddenly, I was faced with the prospect of college just a few years away. Suddenly, I realized that I had to be more grounded, more career-oriented, more realistic.

I dreamed about going to medical school and becoming a surgeon (driven no doubt by endless hours of watching surgical shows & Grey’s Anatomy). I then became a vegetarian and then dreamed about becoming a veterinarian so I could help animals. In the middle of all that, I also dreamed about becoming a famous, best-selling writer. This all happened in high school.

And then, after high school, after college, as someone in their mid-twenties, I’ve come to the realization that I’m not so special after all. As someone who went through life with an over inflated self-esteem, I always believed that I could accomplish anything, no matter how impossible it seemed. I believed that I could fly (I never wanted to because of my fear of heights).

Coming off of this mindset, I realize now that I’m not so special after all. I am average. I’m not the smartest, though I work hard, I’ve always worked hard, at my studies. I’m not an athlete (I’m really clumsy). I don’t really have a special talent, such as the ability to roll my tongue or a photographic memory.  This realization is slightly depressing because it means that I am just like everybody else in this world. I am no different from my neighbors and friends.

So, what does this mean? What can an average person do to become even just a little bit extraordinary? The only thing I can do is to keep trying new things, hoping that maybe, just maybe, I will find something that will make me just a little less “average.”

But, at the same time, maybe it is a blessing in disguise to be average?  Because, if I wasn’t, then I would probably let the extraordinary-ness get the best of me. So, what can I do? Just accept the fact that I am average and work hard, hoping that maybe, one day, I will make myself even greater.

I will rise above the average-ness.

 

4 thoughts on “I Am Average

  1. Sushi

    I struggle with this as well, especially after growing up as the smart kid special snowflake in a small town. Now that I’ve met so many other people who are so much smarter and can do so much more, I’ve realized that I too am average. Maybe that’s okay. Maybe it’s not. But for me accepting average is just the first step to complacency and not doing anything to improve myself, which is unacceptable for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Helen Post author

      Good point! 🙂 tbh, it doesn’t sit very well with me, to admit that I’m average, but in my experience, acceptance helps one adjust (and hopefully) improve one’s life circumstances! 😉

      Like

      Reply
  2. Maggie

    Same here! I think it goes along with how our generation has been brought up. We’ve always heard “You’re special, you can do whatever you want!” But it’s a lie… we’re all pretty much average, and we have to do the best we can with our averageness. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

